The Story of the Chocolate Fish

With Valentine’s Day coming up, I’m reminded of a very strange gift I received a few years back. I was working in a convenience store and had been there for a few years so I knew all of my customers. One fella who came in to the store a few days each week had a ‘thing’ for me I guess. He asked me out despite the fact that I was married. I said no, of course.

But he flirted and carried on, telling me how pretty I was and stuff. He wasn’t creepy or anything and he never got out of line, he just flirted. Then Valentine’s Days rolled around and here he comes with chocolate for me. He gave me the box, unwrapped and unadorned and said ‘Here, I got a little something for you.’ It was hollow chocolate in the shape of a fish. I thought it was sort of cute.

Hey, I’m a woman and I love chocolate! So I took the gift and said thank you. A bit later I was showing it to a friend. As she lifted the box up from the counter, I could see the bottom of the box and there, written in big letters in blue ink were the words “TO DADDY, I LOVE YOU.”

My friend and I laughed and laughed endlessly! Oh my gosh, he had re-gifted chocolate his KID had given him! How terrible!! But geez it was hilarious.

So, I held on to the chocolate fish and the next time he came in I told him that if he didn’t want the chocolate, he should give it back to his kid!

Certainly the oddest Valentine’s Day gift ever!

Image

About lherren1963

I'm a 51 yr old college student. I'm pursuing a BFA in Creative Writing.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Story of the Chocolate Fish

  1. Sherry says:

    Oh NO!!! That would have been funny…and a little sad. 😦 Loved the story though.

Leave a Reply

