Finish the Sentence Friday

Welcome to Finish The Sentence Friday (FTSF #4), where we give you a sentence and you finish it (however long or short you’d like). Write a post and link it up, or if you don’t blog, feel free to finish the sentence in the comments for everyone to see.

Please Follow Your Hosts:

Janine @ Janine’s Confessions of a Mommyaholic


Kate @ Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine with My Morning Quiet Time

And, your co-hosts:


Stephanie @ Mommy, For Real

Dawn @ Dawn’s Disaster

The sentence for this week:

“When I was younger I tried…”

When I was younger I tried to be a jockey. Seriously. I always had horses growing up. The first one was Sugar, and she was the sweetest thing. I was 7 years old when mom bought her for me. She stayed in a pasture near our house but there was no barn, so when it was cold, we would keep her in our garage! I had her for a few years.

My next horse was Sinbad, and he was so bad! He would kick and bite… he was just plain mean! I never rode him and I didn’t have him very long.

In high school, I had a horse with a very long ‘official’ name, which I do remember, but for the life of me, I can’t remember his ‘everyday’ name! I had him 3 or 4 years.

During my junior high and high school years, there was a place down the road from where I lived that had horses. Some were racehorses; some were show horses. I worked for the stable for a while, cleaning out stalls and grooming horses.

The biggest horse they had was a thouroughbred-quarterhorse mix.  His nickname was Clyde and he hated people. So, I made it my mission to become his best friend. It took a while, but after a few months, he was tame and I was able to ride him. No one else who worked at the stable would have anything to do with him, but he loved me and followed me like a puppy.

I was even allowed to take him down the road to show my mom what I had accomplished. My employer insisted I have a chaperone for the ride though, just in case something happened. The chaperone was a 19-year-old cowboy named Clint, but that’s another story!

I never did get to ride any of the racehorses and Clyde was way to heavy to race. But he was my buddy and I got to ride him often, so I was a happy camper.

So yeah, I tried to be a jockey but it didn’t work out. But it is a great memory. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that the owner of the place looked just like Conway Twitty… no joke!!

About lherren1963

I'm a 51 yr old college student. I'm pursuing a BFA in Creative Writing.
Aside | This entry was posted in Finish The Sentence Friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finish the Sentence Friday

  1. JenJen0703 says:

    So, what you’re saying is, when the city of Battle Creek finds out I’m keeping a Clydesdale in my shed, I should fly her down to your place, right?

Leave a Reply

