You Said It!

I have the most wonderful man in my life. He’s been here almost 5 years now. He’s a contractor, and I must say he is an HONEST contractor! He can build anything. And good at math… Oh my goodness!

He quit school after ninth grade. Back in the day, that was legal. And though he’s really good at math, he doesn’t read or write very well. I know this embarrasses him. He often mispronounces words and gets embarrassed when he can’t get it right. I try to help without being pushy… I don’t want to make him feel ‘dumb.’

Well, one day I decided to take the chance and talk to him about his mispronouncing of words. My theory is that, since he doesn’t read well, that he mispronounces words because he doesn’t know what they ‘look’ like. Does that make sense? It did to him! So, I wrote the word that had sparked the conversation on a piece of paper. When he saw the word and how it was spelled, he realized how he had been saying it wrong. Problem solved. For that word anyway!

After this, I have been more comfortable in correcting him. If he says the word wrong, I will spell it for him so he can ‘see’ the word. I don’t do this in front of other people, that would be horribly embarrassing for him. But when we are alone, I have no mercy! Keep in mind, it’s all done light-heartedly. I don’t fuss or treat him like he’s dumb… I would never do that. Knowing why he mispronounces words makes it much easier to help him.

So, the other day, I had a job interview out of town. My Guy rode along with me to keep me company. He likes to drive from the passenger seat. You know what I mean… slow down, turn here, watch your speed, there’s a cop, get in the other lane. Blah Blah Blah. non – stop. I tuned him out.

After the interview, we started looking for a place to eat. We saw this place and that place, but nah… didn’t want to eat that. Then we saw ‘Panchos’….. a mexican food place. He said “there’s Punchos.” I said PAAWWWWNCHOS. He said PAWWWNCHOS. I said yeah… its not Punchos. He said PAWWWNCHOS. I said you got it. He said “You better watch your speed through here.” I said “You better hush up or I’m gonna make you my PUNCHO bag!!”

About lherren1963

I'm a 51 yr old college student. I'm pursuing a BFA in Creative Writing.
Aside | This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You Said It!

  1. Oh you two sound like you make a great couple and team. Love the name by the way and so happy to have stopped by πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. What a great story. My hubby has a similar problem and mispronounces words like picture. When I first met him, he said “pitcher” instead of “picture.” Unfortunately for him, that’s one of my pet peeved. He got corrected right away, but he still slips every now and then. But the English language is so difficult to learn, it’s a wonder any of us can pronounce anything right at all! We’re not all linguists! Lol πŸ™‚ Great post, love your writing style!

  3. Great name, and I think it’s wonderful you taking the time to help someone else like that, and not make him feel silly. Look forward to reading more of your posts. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

